Galaxie Forum Full-size Ford, Lincoln, and Mercury DazeCars www.galaxieforum.com

This forum is for all years of the Ford Galaxie and all other Full-size Ford, Lincoln, and Mercury cars. This is a place to share information, skills, pictures, and stories for the purpose of building friendships and furthering the enjoyment and restoration of these cars

You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

July 7, 2016 7:21 am  #1

Spindle nuts coming loose?

I have been driving my car for a few months now. To recap, 61 Galaxie with 78 Cougar front disc brakes. I noticed a rattling noise coming from the front end, every time I ran over some pot holes or broken up pavement. I checked all steering and suspension bolts, all was well. When I applied the brakes, the rattling noise disappeared. So, I suspected calliper or pads. When I went to check the brake components, I noticed both of the rotors were wobbly on the spindles. I retightened the nuts and the brake components were good.
I'm finding it odd that those spindle nuts came loose. When I had the alignment done a while back, the tech said one of those spindle nuts was loose from the install. He tightened it so I'm pretty sure from that point, the spindle nuts were correctly tightened? So...how come they came loose? The spindle nut locking washers are in good shape and the cotter pins were intact?

July 7, 2016 8:56 am  #2

Re: Spindle nuts coming loose?

Do the spindle nuts belong to the spindles? If not, possible for a matching pitch, like 18 TPI as an example on both parts and a mis-match on the nominal thread size. It will still thread on but tend to come loose easily. If it happens again, look to see if the bearing races are tight in the rotors and verify the spindle nuts.

July 7, 2016 3:47 pm  #3

Thanks. That does make sense regarding the threads not matching. Wouldn't the locking cap/washer over the spindle nut and the cotter pin prevent the nut from spinning loose?