Galaxie Forum Full-size Ford, Lincoln, and Mercury DazeCars www.galaxieforum.com

This forum is for all years of the Ford Galaxie and all other Full-size Ford, Lincoln, and Mercury cars. This is a place to share information, skills, pictures, and stories for the purpose of building friendships and furthering the enjoyment and restoration of these cars

You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

May 17, 2016 6:30 am  #1

new member with a 64 Galaxie 500

Hi all. I am new to Fords. I am really looking forward to chatting with members.  I recently bought a 64 with a 70 351 Cleveland and 4 speed toploader. The car needs a lot of work, but runs very strong and has a solid body.
The car is at my vacation place, so I don't have access to it until I get back up there. Can't wait to start sorting it out.

The car has a full exhaust system with manifolds. I'm sure this is restricting things quite a bit and want to go with headers. However, there seems to be very little information on what will fit without spending a ton on custom headers.
Does anyone know of a header that could work with a minimum amount of hammer attitude adjustment to get to fit?
I will post pics as soon as I get two postings in, per the site rules.

Thanks!

May 17, 2016 8:43 am  #2

Re: new member with a 64 Galaxie 500

May 17, 2016 11:39 am  #3

pictures

May 17, 2016 12:04 pm  #4

looks like a fun project.  Welcome to the forum.  I look forward to getting to know you and helping you with your car.

May 18, 2016 7:14 am  #5

Looks like you have a nice solid car there. '64s are my next favorite Galaxie (after my '67 of course) with the '63-1/2 a close third.

You have plenty of room under the hood, and Summit Racing has a good selection of headers and other goodies for the 351 Cleveland:

http://www.summitracing.com/search/make/ford/engine-family/ford-cleveland/engine-size/5-8l-351/part-type/headers?SortBy=DisplayPrice&SortOrder=Ascending